Join today, save 20 percent!      ●    Contact us    ●    Log in

National Park Service issues draft plan for Water Gap, invites public comment, schedules meetings

Plan includes new camp sites, facilities, entrance fees.

 

The National Park Service has issued a draft Visitor Use Management Plan for the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area and Middle Delaware National Scenic and Recreational River. The draft plan is available for public review and comment for  until December 6, 2019 at their web site.

In addition proposing an to an entrance fee, which has yet to be established, the plan also proposes a park-specific seven-day pass: $25 for a vehicle, $15 for a person, and $20 for a motorcycle,  and a $45 annual pass. The new entrance fee would mean changes to existing amenity fees and the park’s entrance stations. The plan calls for expansion and improvement of visitor facilities and amenities, including additional river camp sites.

In addition to public comment submitted on line and by mail, there will be two public meetings:

Thursday, October 24, 6 - 8 PM, Bushkill Volunteer Fire Company Hall, 124 Evergreen Drive, Bushkill, PA 18324

Saturday, October 26, 1-3 PM, Sussex County Technical School Auditorium, 105 North Church Road, Sparta, NJ 07871

Article in the Allentown Morning Call about the AT and AMC and hiking ... link

Bill Steinmetz from our chapter and Bob Sickley from ATC are quoted. There is a link to our chapter web site in the electronic version.

Jane Richter, top mileage hiker two years in a row, active trail worker, Volunteer of the Month

Jane Richter: to some, she seems like the Energizer Bunny in that she shows up every week for hikes, no matter how far away they are or whether they're an easy canal walk or a mountain climb. She has been the number one AMC-DV member in terms of total mileage for the last two years.

But a lot of people don't know that she has also been an active volunteer in doing trail work with the Pennsylvania Highlands Trail Stewards and the New Jersey Highlands Trail Crew, working in Ringing Rocks County Park, Veterans' Park in Quakertown, and all the way up in the Jenny Jump State Forest in New Jersey.

As an active hiker, she appreciates the quality of a well maintained trail and knows that trails don't maintain themselves, but are maintained by dedicated volunteers like herself. Thanks for pitching in Jane, and congratulations!

Take the Kittatinny Ridge Recognition and Identification Survey

The Kittatinny Ridge (the Ridge) is Pennsylvania’s longest contiguous forested ridge. This long mountain range is familiar to many. It is the large forested expanse that one can view to the left when you travel north on Interstate 81 from the Maryland border and continue east on Interstate 78. It’s where many go to play, relax, enjoy nature, and get away from it all. Click here for more information and to take the survey.

2020 Executive Committee Nominations

Chair                                Susan Weida, dvchair@amcdv.org

Vice Chair                       Bill DeStefano, vicechair@amcdv.org

Secretary                         Midori Wakabayashi, secretary@amcdv.org

Treasurer                        Margaret McDonald, treasurer@amcdv.org

Backpacking                    Cindy Crosser, backpacking@amcdv.org

Bicycling                          Robert Liston, bicycling@amcdv.org

Communication               Eric Pavlak, communication@amcdv.org

Conservation                   Adrian Noble, conservation@amcdv.org

Diversity, Equity &

Inclusion                        Janet Penner, dei@amcdv.org

Family Activities               Annette Sheldon, family@amcdv.org

Hiking                              John Rogers, hiking@amcdv.org

Leadership                       Jeffrey Fritzinger, leadership@amcdv.org

Membership                     Kathy Kindness, membership@amcdv.org

Newsletter*                      Eric Pavlak, newsletter@amcdv.org

Paddling                           Eric Pavlak, paddling@amcdv.org

Publicity*                        Raun Kercher, publicity@amcdv.org

Leroy Smith Shelter*       Patricia Sacks, shelter@amcdv.org

Social                              Jeanne Mantell, social@amcdv.org

Skiing*                             Sue Bickford-Martin, skiing@amcdv.org

Trails                               Greg Bernet, trails@amcdv.org

20s & 30s                        Kate Prisby, 20-30@amcdv.org

Lehigh Valley Group*       Phill Hunsberger, lehigh-valley@amcdv.org

Ombudsman*                  Allen Male, ombudsman@amcdv.org

Names in bold are new to the committee or the position. Those marked * are non-voting positions. The Southern Regional Director is Lois Rothenberger, and attends meetings but does not vote. Regional Directors are selected by a different process.

The Executive Committee members serve a term of one year, beginning when they are approved by vote at the Annual Meeting and Dinner.

The nominating committee consists of Delaware Valley Chapter volunteers, only on of which may be a member of the Executive Committee. This years nominating committee: Bob Liston, Chair, Joan Schultz, Dan Loughner, Raun Kercher, Larry Priori and Marcia Telthorster.

Take Action:

Demand Full and Dedicated Funding for the Land and Water Conservation Fund

Now is our chance to finally secure permanent, dedicated funding for the Land and Water Conservation Fund. The United States Senate is reviewing S.1081, a bi-partisan bill to permanently provide $900 million annually to the Land and Water Conservation Fund.

Write to your Senators today asking for their support of S.1081 by joining as a co-sponsor.

The Land and Water Conservation Fund is a visionary and bipartisan federal funding program for protecting our nation’s most special places. From Sterling Forest in the New York Highlands, to White Cap Mountain in Maine, to the Appalachian National Scenic Trail, the Land and Water Conservation Fund has funded the protection of some of our most iconic landscapes and trails in the Northeast. Earlier this year, we celebrated the permanent re-authorization of the Land Water Conservation Fund, but without dedicated funding Congress’ work is not complete.

Write to your Senators in support of funding for LWCF.

Click here for the Appalachian Mountain Club main website.

© Copyright 2007-2019      All Rights Reserved. The Appalachian Mountain Club - Delaware Valley Chapter.